Find us on Facebook

About the HMUA

The Hackettstown Municipal Utilities Authority is a Water and Sewer Authority created by the Town of Hackettstown in 1965. The HMUA provides service to portions of five municipalities in the Hackettstown Area. The five municipalities include the Town of Hackettstown, Independence Township and Mansfield Township in Warren County and Mt. Olive Township and Washington Township in Morris County.

The Authority is governed by a five Member Board, each of whom is appointed to a five-year term. The current members of the Authority Board are as follows:


Ciro Lala

Vice Chairman
William Harper

John M. DiMaio

Gerald DiMaio, Jr.

William W. Kuster, Jr


Executive Director
Kathleen Corcoran, PE, PP, PMP, LEED AP

Deputy Executive Director - Engineer
Christopher Pizarro, PE

Office Manager
Nancy Lasch

Sewer Utility Superintendent
Mike Brady

Water Utility Superintendent
Bud Volkert


The HMUA Water System includes six (6) water production wells, four (4) ground storage water tanks, two (2) water booster stations and approximately 105 miles of water distribution mains. The HMUA pumps an average of 2,200,000 gallons of clean safe drinking water each day. To learn more about the quality of the water provided to HMUA customers please see the Annual Water Quality Report.

The HMUA sanitary sewer system includes a Water Pollution Control Plant rated at 3,300,000 gallons per day. The facility is regulated under the New Jersey Pollutant Discharge Elimination System Permit number NJ0021369. The facility provides treatment physical, chemical and biological treatment of approximately 2,100,000 gallons per day. Wastewater is conveyed to the Water Pollution Control Plant via 95 miles of sanitary sewer collection system and includes three (3) sewage pump stations.

After Hours or Weekends/Holidays Emergency Call - (908) 246-9520